A Sparkle On The Dark Water

CD - Friends of the Fish 78 CD

on sale late March

LP - Friends of the Fish 78
on sale early August

The stunning new album by the Italian duo, that are championed by the legendary journalist Kris Needs, who describes Cecilia and Max's sound as follows...
"... the duo’s distinctive brand, given by trip-hop beats and dreamy textures of dream-pop, unfolds itself in a more dense and evolved sound. Cecilia’s passionate voices are surrounded by Max’s enveloping pyramid of synths and guitars, along with fiery authentic lesson on how to combine electronic music models with a rare human sensitivity ”

We're delighted at FdM to be involved with the release - Pinhdar are handling the CD version themselves (details below) and we'll be releasing the vinyl album in mid-August - although we're hoping to have copies available in time for their appearance at this summer's 20th Dream of Dr. Sardonicus festival.

Here's a little background for newcomers...

PINHDAR are an Italian duo composed of singer Cecilia Miradoli and guitarist/producer Max Tarenzi. Born out of experiences in the rock band Nomoredolls and the organisation of the international musical festival 'A Night Like This', they explore the fusion of trip-hop, dark wave, and electronica with originality, influenced by the Bristol scene.
Their eponymous debut EP in 2019 received praise from the British critics, with the single ‘Toy’ broadcasted on major radios like KEXP. In 2021, they released their first album, ‘Parallel,’ with the collaboration of legendary producer Howie B, published by Fruits de Mer Records. The European tour included prestigious venues such as Stereolux in Nantes.

‘A Sparkle On The Dark Water’ has been produced by Bruno Ellingham, a former Massive Attack and Portishead collaborator. The duo describe the album as, "an intimate reflection on the meaning of human existence and what can still be done, both privately and to others, to ignite a spark in the dark waters into which the planet Earth is increasingly sinking"

News on the vinyl edition soon, meanwhile you can order the CD version from Pinhdar's bandcamp page... CLICK HERE

Track listing...

1. In The Woods
2. Cold River
3. Home
4. Little Light
5. Murderers Of A Dying God
6. Humans
7. Solanin
8. Frozen Roses
9. Abysses
10. At The Gates Of Dawn

    some Fruits de Mer releases you might be interested in....

  • Sendelica

  • Kevin Robertson

  • The Fishheads

if you're not already on a Fruits de Mer mailing-list, please email

help spread the word!

All copyrights reserved 2023
...hear the tracks.. the vinyl.. ..smell the fish...